Getting started

Standard

Where to start… I might as well get straight to the point. I have set myself two challenges for the year ahead. Challenge one is to make all 1000 quilt blocks in Maggi McCormick Gordon’s 1000 great quilt blocks. Challenge two is to read Being and Nothingness by Jean-Paul Satre. 

  

Why you may ask? Other than a sudden onset of madness, or very early senility. Well, I think it is because I wanted to learn something. In the case of the quilt blocks, I want to learn how to be a better, more accurate sewer and in the case of the Satre I want to learn and understand about ideas.

To be honest, the quilt blocks I think I can handle. It is only 3 a day, and I have already started. Being and Nothingness has me slightly more spooked. It has been sitting on my bookshelf for a while and every now and then I pick it up, read a couple of pages, realise I am going to need a dictionary, and put it down again. I guess that is the reason I decided to set myself my challenge in public, on a blog, to make myself accountable.

For those of you who came to this blog for quilting don’t let the idea of serious philosophical discussion phase you. In order to make it so that I actually understand what I am reading I am going to have to translate it into such plain English that it should be understandable even to a novice. For those who have come for the philosophy I hope I can give you an appreciation of quiltmaking.

I intend for there to be lots of pictures, for those of you who just want to look at some cool quilt blocks

Helen

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

