I finished the introduction

Standard
We are having a massive storm at the moment. It started raining as I was walking home from the train station, and it was quite incredible. It has been so hot today, and the road and the pavement had heated up so much that where the rain settled there was small wisps of steam coming off.

A mini celebration is in order I think, to celebrate the both the weather and the fact that I just finished the introduction. The first 23 pages. Only 624 left to go.

The last couple of pages I read seemed to be merely reinforcing existing points and leaves you with the question of how are the being of consciousness (being for itself) and the being of the phenomenon (being in itself) going to be reconciled.

The machine person came and collected my machine today and has whisked it off for a tune up. I am feeling some serious withdrawal symptoms. I don’t know how I am going to cope without it for a week. If necessary I might have to resort to hand piecing. My plan at this stage is to have a massive cutting out session over the next couple of days, so I have lots ready to go when I can sew again.

In the meantime – here is one I prepared earlier. I have a stash of excess blocks I have made over the last couple of days and I am planning to dole them out in increments.

70 Cross in a cross

5 responses »

  1. Hi Helen, hand piecing is not as daunting as it seems. This is the perfect excuse for you to try it. I only started when I was without a machine and now I am addicted! BTW, I linked to Maggie Gordon’s site from your blogroll. I think there is a book order on the horizon.

  2. Hi, I have tried hand piecing before but only the english paper piecing kind, and I do usually enjoy it, but I would love to give the other kind a try. I am a little daunted by the idea of having to mark all my blocks but I might just have to bite the bullet and try it. It would be good to be able to have a set of blocks for hand piecing that I can take places.

  3. Hi Helen, I travel a lot which is how I got started. I have completed a hexagon quilt all by hand including quilting and am working on a diamond quilt. Both quilts are one-patch quilts–an easy place to start. You can see photos at quiltfever.wordpress.com. (I have two more in progress which I will be posting soon.)

  4. Just had a look at your blog. I love your one patch diamond quilt.

    I started handpiecing my first block today. Did some on the bus and while I was waiting for some people at work. It is going together much faster than I thought it would.

    • It’s way more relaxing than machine piecing. And if you do a little every night, it does go surprisingly quickly. Can’t wait to see your photo of your first block!

Leave a Reply

