3 January 2011

Standard
Today was the last day of my holiday, so I decided to go to one of favourite places, the botanical gardens. I sat in the Japanese garden and read Being and Nothingness and ate a chocolate croissant. It was so peaceful. Well except for the bit when this really noisy family sat down right next to me and had a conversation at the top of their lungs about what a rip off furniture polish was because you could make it yourself for next to nothing from really cheap ingredients.  I was tempted to pipe up and say something about the kind of bureaucracy and the environmental safeguards involved in dealing with commercial quantities of highly flammable materials, but managed to restrain myself. 

Japanese Garden

All in all it was a good day though. I managed to get through about 8 pages of the book in a relatively short period of time and managed to finish chapter 1. Most of the bit I was reading was about how we avoid anguish in our day-to-day lives, and try to distract ourselves from our freedom.  
When I was done reading I wandered round a bit and took some photos, looking for some inspiration for what I could do with the Queensland Quilter’s challenge fabric. I have to make a small quilt from this, and I think the fabric has to make up at least 25 per cent of the quilt top. Well I don’t have to obviously. I could throw it in the cupboard and use it later as a dish cloth, but I think it would be nice if I could come up with something clever. At present I am rather stumped. I saw some rather nice blue and orange flowers in the gardens that I might be able to use as inspiration, but I don’t know that I will have big enough pieces of blue and orange to make it work.

Challenge Fabric

I spent the afternoon sewing, I didn’t finish any blocks  but I did manage to sew the first round of all the blocks that I have set aside for the rest of the week. Hopefully, this will make me a little less time pressed once I am back at work.
 
I do have these three blocks to show off that I made yesterday evening.
 

144 Kaleidoscope

126 Hourglass Four-Patch

120 Lighthouse Beacon

 

Leave a Reply

