Down but not completely out

Standard

We managed to get back to our house yesterday to start the clean up. It was pretty horrific. Everything was covered about 5 centimetres deep in this gross slimy mud.  The water went up to about knee height on the second storey, so we lost all our furniture as well as a lot of other stuff.

This is the front stairs to the house. The box of clothes was actually okay because it floated on top of the water.

This is what was left of my bedroom.

This is part of the huge pile of stuff that was dragged out of the house.

This is another bit.

So that was our house, and pretty much every house in our street was the same, and the next street, and about 15 streets in either direction, maybe more. Places I thought that would have been okay, because they were reasonably high up, got damage as well. It’s difficult to imagine the scale, that was just my neighbourhood and there are probably about 30 other suburbs in Brisbane effected as well.

The water that came through is like toxic sludge, a mix of river water and sewage, and all kinds of chemicals and other stuff that comes out of industrial estates and gardens. I did wonder about whether we should try to wash stuff off and save it but then I thought about the cemetery a couple of blocks from our house, which was also inundated, and decided if it was wet it had to go.

I did manage to save some things. Some clothes, my computer (minus peripheries), some fabric, my sewing machine minus the foot pedal, my great gran’s old baking bowl. I have my copies of Being and Nothingness and 1000 great quilt blocks, and all the quilt blocks I have made so far.  So it could have been a lot worse.

Some many people came out to help it was fantastic, and everything got done so fast. Just ordinary people who felt the need to do something. We were able to completely clear out the house by about lunch time today. I don’t think we will be able to move back in though, the landlord says that it will probably be uninhabitable for months. So essentially I am looking for somewhere else to live.

I did try to do some hand piecing of blocks and Sartre reading while I was waiting to be able to get back to the house but could never really settle to it. Hopefully, I will be able to get back into it soon, as I have a lot of catching up to do.

I am off now to try to find a new pedal for my sewing machine.

Helen

Leave a Reply

