4 February 2010

Standard

Am feeling rather pleased with myself as I have discovered a new way of doing things. Pressing at the moment is a bit of a pain. I have to get up, go to the other room where the iron is set up, turn it on, press, turn it off (because there are cats and other critters wandering around who might get in trouble with a hot iron), go back to the sewing machine and sew the next lot of bits. So I decided this evening that I wasn’t going to do it. I thought instead I would try pinning my seams in place. I sewed, pressed the seam in place with my fingers and put a pin in to hold it down, then sewed the next seam.

I was worried for a bit half way into the block that the whole thing wouldn’t sit flat when I was finished but I gave it a little iron when I was done and it seems fine.

My last two seams were a little off because I pinned the seams the wrong way and didn’t realise till after I had sewn over them. If I was being really finicky I would have unpicked but I actually think as a technique it has potential. I don’t know if it is any faster than pressing but that could be because I wasn’t chain piecing. I started in the middle of the block and worked my way round.

It would be a little easier with flat-headed pins. Most importantly it was actually a lot of fun.

 The block is below. Let me know what you think. I know I am not the most accurate piecer at the best of times but do my seams look as good as they normally do?

113 Pyramids

Leave a Reply

