Back to nothingness

Standard

Still slogging my way through the chapter on time/temporality. I have finished the bit on past and am now onto the present. Which takes us back of course to nothingness. Apparently to have a present, we have to be present to something, and we are present to things by not being them. So we get a present through nothingness. I personally think that it is a mistake to think of being present to something and having a present moment in time as one and the same thing. I don’t know that it quite gels with my idea of time, but then I haven’t given a great deal of thought to the concept of time. Am also wondering whether it is possible to discuss consciousness of time without considering ideas of time in physics. My initial thinking is that the two discussions should inform each other.

The block tonight is one that has been sitting there for a while waiting for me to sew it (mostly because I didn’t cut out enough bits). Getting the middle to match up was a little tricky for some reason.

134 Oddfellows Cross

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

