Learning with out applying

Standard

Is there any point in learning if you don’t apply it to how you do things? I guess it depends on the kind of learning it is. Some learning if it is about ways to do things so you end up with a better result seems like it should be applied. For example, I have learnt that when applying right-angled triangles to the corners of squares it might make for a more accurately pieced block if I were to make a template or measure and mark a sewing line and that seams go together better when I pin. But I didn’t do either of those things when I made the Kansas dugout block this afternoon. I didn’t trim away the excess fabric from behind either, or be extra mindful when I was sewing so that my seams didn’t twist.

I guess at the end of the day if you are happy with the result you get for the effort you put in then there is no incentive to put in more effort. The question I have to ask is whether I am really happy with the results I am getting or whether I would like a better ones.

Here’s the Kansas Dugout block, and another one that I finished paper piecing last night.

165 Kansas Dugout

188 Positively Negative

Leave a Reply

