Monday, 12 September 2011

Standard

I’m still not concentrating great. I think I am hormonal. Probably didn’t need to share that, but there you go.

I am persevering with the section on the body, at the moment Sartre is talking about illness and pain and disease, all of which are slightly different in definition. Essentially what I think he is saying is that all I can know is pain, or individual symptoms. When we pile all the symptoms together, and also recurrences spread across time, and start to see it as a disease we are seeing through the eyes of the other. So for example, there is the experience of difficulty concentrating and tiredness but when I call it PMT I step away from the experience. I am still trying to figure out whether Sartre thinks that is a good thing or a bad thing, or whether I think that is a good or a bad thing.

 

Leave a Reply

