Sad end to the day

Standard

I got home this afternoon to find a pile of quilting books and wadding by my back door. No note or anything but a couple of missed calls from my brother on my phone. So I called him. Turns out the stuff is from my sister-in-law’s mother. She has cancer and has been cleaning out her things, getting her affairs in order I guess, and she wanted it to go to someone who would use it. I can’t decide whether it is admirable that she doesn’t want to leave stuff behind for other people to deal with, or incredibly sad that she possibly feels like she has to do this, that she can’t just leave other people to take care of things, even now. I am a little melancholy now, thinking about my own mortality and the pain that her passing, when it comes, will bring to my sister-in-law and her family.

Leave a Reply

