New Challenges

Standard

I can’t believe it but I am bored already. Really. The last week or so I have just been trying to relax and do nothing, but I am now so used to doing something that it just doesn’t feel right. I was going to give my self till the end of January to set myself some goals but I figure if I am ready I might as well start now.

My goals for the year are, in no particular order:

  1. To make something from all 1000 quilt blocks – this one is quite straight forward and I’ve already started (pictures below)
  2. To get down to a healthy BMI (body mass index). I hate to say it but my BMI is currently 35.9. Which means I’m officially obese. So more exercise and less chocolate for me this year and by the end of the year it has to be 25 or below.
  3. To write a novel. Has to be at least 50,000 words, they don’t have to be good words or edited words, just get something down in first draft. And it has to have a beginning, middle and an end (because I’ve read Ulysses by James Joyce and thought it was pretty pointless).
  4. and lastly…because I am kind of crazy and need something that is really going to push me creatively… I have to go to 100 places I’ve never been before. I think this one is pushing it, I don’t know how I am possibly going to cram in 100, I picked it because it seemed like a nice round number but now I realise its 2 new places a week so maybe I’ll aim for 100 but I’ll be happy if I get to 50. 

So there you have it. I’ll keep you posted. I’ll try to blog at least once a week on a Sunday to let you know how I am going and to show off the things I am making from my blocks.

I have already put together some of the blocks into a quilt top.

 

Also, I put a border around another one of my blocks and mounted it on one of those canvas frames you get from craft shops. It is now hanging on the side of my kitchen cupboard. I quite like this idea, I have a few spare picture hooks round my house and thought I would gradually collect something to put on them. Having quilt blocks hanging round the house might actually be quite fun. I could even get a bigger frame and sew a couple of blocks together, or do some embellishing as well.

2 responses »

  1. Congratulations on finishing your 1000 blocks.
    Even more congratulations (if that’s the right way to put it) on reading James Joyce’ Ulysses. I only managed to get about 14 pages in before I decided that life was too short (and I speak as one who has read Anna Karenina and War and Peace, so it wasn’t just a lack of stamina on my part).
    Anyway, good luck with your new projects.
    At the risk of sounding facetious (which I really don’t mean to be) maybe you could combine the exercise thing with your plan to go to new places. Walking can be a pretty good form of exercise. So I suppose you could either try walking to new places, if they’re close at hand, or walking about in the places you go to once you get there. (I should add at this point that I’ve no dea what my BMI is, but I bet it’s worse than yours and I’m trying to talk myself into getting off my somewhat enlarged backside and walking a bit more (Actually wuite a lot more if I’m going to stave off that heart attack people keep promising me).
    Anyway, I’ll be interested to read about your progress on your new projects.

    • Hey, if you are reading Russians I am impressed. They are the ones I usually give up on because I can never keep track of whose who with the nicknames and the other various names the characters have.

      I agree with the walking. I actually quite like bushwalking once I get out there, its just finding the motivation to actually go. There are lots of places quite close to do it, so I will have to start exploring. Plus I haven’t even walked round the block since I moved into my new house 8 months ago, which is very slack of me.

Leave a Reply

