Raining…still

Standard

It’s still raining, and I’m getting a little bit sick of it. Everything feels kind of damp, one of my skirting boards is sprouting black soot, and I can’t get out in the garden to mow my lawn. I’m not sure that the last one is such a bad thing, I may have mentioned previously that I hate mowing, but it doesn’t stop growing just because it is raining and if it gets too long it will be harder to mow later.

Plus all the grey is really putting a dampener on my mood and my energy levels, and I get tired because I don’t sleep. It’s not just me, it feels like the whole city is kind of on edge. I don’t think psychologically we have really recovered from the flooding last year yet. Even though we have had nowhere near as much rain, it’s not in the right catchments etc and mentally you know that we are not going to flood there is an emotional response to the rain now that wasn’t there before.

As for progress on my goals – not a lot.  

Words written – none. The problem is I have about 15 possible beginnings, 2 possible endings and no idea what happens in the middle. I know I am just going to have to pick one and go with it and I can change it later if I need to, but I am not quite ready to abandon possible stories and go with one yet.

BMI – no change. I was doing alright at the start of the week but kind of had a chocolate blowout towards the end which undid all my good work.

Places visited – 1 . Actually made some progress on this one. Would have been more without the rain dampening my efforts. I went to Sew Creative in Gatton. I know it’s a Patchwork shop, but I had never been there before. It’s been on my list of places that are quite close by but not close enough to be convenient and that I probably should check out at some point. Plus I now know that a return visit to the area is probably justified to see some of the other stuff that I would have stopped to see if it wasn’t for the fact that it was raining. 

I am going to have to find other places to visit besides patchwork shops though, because otherwise I will go bankrupt. Spent far too much money yesterday. I realised during the week that the reason my rotary cutter blades were going blunt really quickly was because my cutting mat was stuffed so I bought a new one that is bigger and quite cool because it rotates,  as well as about 10 metres of fabric (to use to put together some of my 1000 quilt blocks) and also some bigger rulers. I spent so much money the shop lady actually gave me a discount, which was very nice.

Nothing finished quilt wise, but definitely some progress towards something that will be finished soon. I should have taken a photo of the shop so I can keep a visual record of all the new places I visit, but I think I would have felt like a bit of a crazy lady taking a photo of someones shop. You will have to make do with a picture of my new cutting mat and rulers. I was a bit disconcerted by the brightness of the rulers at first, but they do make cutting a whole lot easier.

2 responses »

  1. Re BMI. You may know this already but one of the reasons why diets are so frustrating for people (Aside from being a bad idea for various other reasons) is that they seem to lose a lot of weight for the first few days and then they sort of plateau. The reason for this is that the human body notices when it’s calorie intae goes down so it goes into ‘starvation mode’ and uses its calories more efficiently, hence you stop losing weight as quickly. One way around this is to have a calculated binge every few days to keep your body out of starvation mode and keep the weight loss going.Of course the real trick is to balance your diet so that you’re taking enough of all the right things in, other wise you risk losing protein along with fat and then when you (inevitably) fall off your diet you end up replacing the fat, but not the muscle thereby aggravating the unhealthy proportion of fat to muscle that so many of us have.
    The upshot of all this.
    Dieting is bad (you probably know that already).
    A change of lifestyle, such as you’re planning, which involves a bit more exercise and a bit less of the kind of stuff we all like is good.
    Also, and the only point of this extended ramble, the odd binge every now and then is probably a good thing, on balance, provided that, in general, you’ve got a reasonably decent balanced diet and considerably more exercise in your lifestyle than I can currently boast.
    I gather it’s probably a good idea to think of what you eat and drink over a week rather than concentrating on a daily balance. That way you can have the odd indulgeance and generally lead a more civilised and sustainable lifestyle.
    Best of luck with your plans anyway.
    Anyway

    • I think the longest I’ve ever lasted on a diet was 1 day, so I am definitely not taking the diet path. I’m trying to get something I can live with long term, that balances out what I love to eat, with what is sensible. Mostly my diet isn’t too bad. Because I am a vegetarian I am always making sure I get plenty of balance. My downfall is chocolate. I could sit there and eat it all day. But I am trying to focus on the positives. My exercise is going well. I have started out doing 15 minutes, 3 times a week and I seem to be sticking to it. It doesn’t sound like much but everything I have read says when you are really unfit you can’t just go all out straight up, and while I may not be lighter in weight I am definitely feeling a little more toned

Leave a Reply

