Hubris

Standard

Life is pretty boring here at the moment. I have been plodding along with the hand quilting, and a little bit of machine sewing on a new quilt top.

I have been trying to read a bit more and have just finished reading a rather interesting book by Michael J Sandel. It was about the ethics around genetic enhancement, gene therapy and stem cell research. Not a topic I had really thought about much before so it was an interesting read. I thought it was particularly interesting that one of his arguments against was that it was dis-empowering to attempt to change our selves to fit the world, rather than build a world to suit us as we are. My initial reaction was to reject that idea from an environmental standpoint, but I think he was talking more about culture and society. If anyone can change themselves to fit what society thinks of as acceptable, where is the incentive to build a society which is accepting of difference?

Which takes me nicely I guess to the topic of judging people and hubris, of which I had a rather splendid moment this week.

We got an email at work asking people to participate in Dry July, a campaign where people pledge not to drink alcohol for 1 month in order to raise money for people with cancer. So I am reading this, as a non-drinker, thinking how silly it was that people think it is a challenge to go without alcohol for a whole month, when really it shouldn’t be. Hence, todays topic about judging, and the excessive pride that usually goes with it when you think that you are better than the people whom you are judging. My hubris didn’t last long of course. I quickly remembered that my last effort to go without something that I enjoyed, chocolate and cola, lasted a spectacular 12 hours. 

Being my usual rash and impulsive self, I then decided what I really needed to do was give up chocolate and cola for a month, just to prove that I could. I’m not generally in favour of giving foods up. Usually, it works about as well as dieting. You last a little while and then you splurge. However, a month isn’t a permanent fixture and since it will take me nicely up to the start of my holiday gives me a good opportunity to rid myself of some bad habits, so I am not constantly craving caffeine and sugar while I travel. Then when I get back I will reintroduce the cola and chocolate as treats, rather than as everyday occurrences. 

On an entirely separate matter, I have decided to start making my own bread. Don’t ask why. Another one of my rash decisions. There is a picture of my first effort below. It was slightly lopsided, a fact I am going to blame on my oven not heating up evenly and not the fact that I didn’t knead it enough or add salt, because I didn’t have any. Other than that, it actually tastes alright. A little stodgy, but beautiful toasted with a drizzle of honey.

Anyway, enough from me for one day.

My bread

3 responses »

  1. I gave up sugar in my tea late last year. I reckon it took me about six months to get used to it.

    Maybe you’d have more luck if you tried to give them up one at a time.

  2. The problem is that if I just give up one, I will spend the next month over indulging in the other. I’m going quite well. The cravings have pretty much gone, and I am finding plenty of other things to eat. The caramel mud cake we had for someone’s birthday at work today went down spectacularly well.

Leave a Reply

