More Festival of Quilts and Birmingham

Standard

I finally got round the rest of the quilt festival yesterday. There was so much to see, so many little displays and exhibitions tucked in among the stalls. I also went to two lectures.  The first was a lecture by Martha Sielman on trends in art quilting and the second was by Pauline Burbridge, an art quilter, about her work and how she goes about it.

This morning I had my final class, called riches of stitches. It was about using stitch as the focal point of a piece. I am not sure it is for me mostly because my hand embroidery is atrocious.

Once I was done with the class I decided I didn’t need to see more of the festival and I caught the train into the centre of Birmingham and had a look round. It is a really weird city. You have the incredibly modern right next to the historic, and not in a way that merges the two. I wandered round a little bit, did a little bit of shopping, and then got sucked into doing some market research on rice. I probably should have said no, but they promised me chocolate. It was quite a strange experience though because they told me a product name and I had to try to find it on a shelf full of rice.

Anyway, today’s post is all about the pictures really – so here they are.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

