Half-empty fridge

Standard

There is something psychologically satisfying about a full fridge. I think it speaks to our primitive self. A longing for plenty which has evolved over thousands of years of uncertain supply and which still lingers despite a large supermarket full of food being less that 15 minutes drive away. Well, I had an epiphany a couple of weeks back about the fullness of my fridge. Simply that, as a single person I can’t eat an entire fridge of food before it goes off. Even though there is a psychological satisfaction from going to the shops once a week and ensuring that my fridge is crammed to overflowing, in reality it just leads to a lot of wasted food (and money). So I am trying to make peace with the idea of a perpetually half-empty fridge. It seems to be working. There have only been a few times when I have opened it and my psyche has screamed at me that I don’t have enough food.

I haven’t posted in ages as study has been taking up a lot more of my time that I had anticipated. Almost no sewing has been done in the last few months. However, because I am completely mad and I don’t like the idea of not sewing for the next four years I am contemplating taking up making miniature quilts. I will let you know how I go.

2 responses »

  1. See, I have the opposite problem. I fill the fridge up on Saturdays and within days it is looking empty again. Or the kids are moaning that there’s nothing to eat…

Leave a Reply

