Chores, holidays and days off

Standard

I was, for a long time, in the habit of doing my housework once a week, first thing on a weekend morning. Getting it over and done with. It usually only took an hour and kept my house nice and tidy. However, the last few months I have been waking up on the weekend and thinking – you know it’s not that dirty. Which is fine until I get to the next Wednesday and my house is completely filthy and needs cleaning and I don’t have time to clean until the weekend, by which time it takes three times as long to clean everything than it would have done had I done my weekly run around in the first place.

I have thought about whether I should just let it go and agree to be just a little bit dirty. The reality is I actually like a clean house. I enjoy my week more if my house is clean . So I am going to have to get back into the regular cleaning habit. But I am going on two weeks holiday in a week and getting back into good habits can wait until I get back. Though it would be good to have a really good clean up before I go as I hate coming home from holidays to a dirty house.

I had the day off work today, which was lovely. Despite this, no cleaning was done. Except for cleaning out the fridge to get rid of the dodgy vegetables so I could restock a little. It was one of those days where you don’t end up doing any of the things you had planned to do but have a fantastic day none-the-less. After the grocery shopping expedition I spent the day on the couch paper piecing triangles and watching DVD’s. Determined not to feel lazy. It was exactly the kind of day I needed.

045 (1024x768)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

