Counting to 10 and bad drains

Standard

I ended last weeks post with a decision to go and find something out about impulse control. I tried. Well…I googled it. It didn’t get me very far. The general consensus seems to be count to 10, or the try really hard to resist and if you keep trying you will eventually get better at it school. By contrast the other approach seems to be to remove all temptation.

The remove all temptation is pretty much impossible. I walk past about three 7-elevens and a dozen other shops on the way to work and sit 2 seconds from the work social fridge with all the goodies in it. Unless I become a hermit there is always going to be temptation. I suppose I can reduce it a little bit by staying out of certain types of shops and dumping my junk mail before I read it so I don’t get any wild buying ideas.

The practice method is difficult but maybe possible. My main objection is that it will take too long. Like anyone who has impulse control problems, if I want something, I want it now, preferably with as little effort as possible. Deep down I want someone to come along and flick a switch and instantaneously I will be the new me. Logically I know that isn’t going to happen, so I am psyching myself up for the hard work ahead.

So far this week I am not doing too badly. I have stuck to budget pretty much. The only fly in the ointment is my drains. I got in the shower this morning and after about 2 minutes realised that the water wasn’t going anywhere. My drains are blocked. Really blocked. Thankfully it is just the water drain and not the sewer so I can still flush the toilet. I just poured about 10 times the recommended dose of drain cleaner down the drain. Hopefully by morning it will have sorted itself out, because if it hasn’t I am going to have to call a plumber and that would completely blow my budget.

The other positive is that last weekend I planted some seeds, and pleasantly surprised that they are starting to grow. I may actually get some home-grown veggies out of this batch.

2016-08-19 07.09.52

 

 

Leave a Reply

