Getting Un-Organised

Standard

It seems being too organised was actually getting in the way of my doing stuff. I’d plot out what I wanted to do for the week and then split up tasks by day. Wednesday I would have task C to do and Thursday I would have task D to do. For some reason or other I would end up not doing C on Wednesday and then I couldn’t do D on Thursday because I hadn’t done C and the whole plan would end up in a heap. And…I wouldn’t do things even if I had the time and the energy because they were scheduled for another day.

So this week I stopped organising at the list of things to do for the week. I just left it at that and am just slowly working my way through the list, looking at the list when I have motivation to do something and picking something that appeals. It seems to be working as I am quickly ticking things off the list. Though in order to stay focused I have had to start a second list of ‘things I think of that I should do but don’t want to do because it would distract me from finishing the list’. I figure the second list can be the start of next week’s list.

So far this week, I finally fixed a bag I made some time ago where the seams were starting to fray, and I made this cushion from a piece of patchwork that I made so long ago that I forgot what I was meant to be doing with it.

2016-11-20-11-03-09279

I started getting organised for Christmas, wrapping presents for everyone I am done shopping for.

2016-11-22-09-58-06280

I even managed to go out and get some gardening done, though that might be more to do with the fact that I gave myself a specific gardening task rather than just adding ‘garden’ to my daily list.

And…a few days ago I went to the acrylic painting class I booked myself into back in September. A pretty impressive effort if I might say so for my first attempt, though the class was very good and I don’t think that anyone’s painting looked hideously bad.

2016-11-20-17-07-02281

Now, off to make myself some lunch and then pin a quilt for quilting this afternoon.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

