Christmas and Gardening

Standard

Only 2 days to go and its Christmas. I’m kind of organised. Presents are all wrapped and I am getting my groceries delivered today because I really didn’t want to be going to the supermarket this close to Christmas. That just leaves a load of cooking and prep for tomorrow and I can relax and enjoy the day.

I am feeling quite productive at the moment. I finished a quilt this week, and have been getting lots of reading in. In part, this productivity could be due to me finally giving in and starting to take something for my hay fever and allergies. Even though I still feel a little bit congested, my head is clearer. It’s amazing how much of a difference that makes.

While the weather is not doing any favours for my allergies, it is doing wonders for my garden. I planted some eggplant, capsicum and tomatoes about six weeks ago and, except for the tomatoes, they are doing great. I have had one harvest of eggplant already and when I looked yesterday, there were about five more growing. The mini capsicums are also growing well. I just need to figure out when is the best time to harvest them. While I had loads of tomatoes, they all rotted. I think they got fruit fly. It was either fruit fly or ants. There were ants on there when I cleaned them off the plants, but the ants could just have gone in to finish off the job. Either way, no tomatoes for me. I am going to have to find a way to protect them before the next lot grows.

 

That’s all from me, for now. Enjoy your holidays, wherever you are and what ever you are celebrating.

Leave a Reply

