Little progress

Standard

It feels like I am not making much progress. In reality I am actually getting a lot done. I spent almost half a day yesterday in the garden getting a start on trying to tame the mess brought about by all the rain we have been having. Today, I spent most of the day baking, and restocking my cupboards and freezer with some home made treats.

Here’s a small sampling of my stash, a date caramel slice and a double chocolate chip cookie. There is also a fruit cake and a loaf of home made bread.

My crafting has stalled a little though, mostly because I am at a technically challenging bit and I am avoiding it.

I started making a bag which has a sashiko panel. I have finished the panel but the next steps are to cut it to size and then zig zag all around the edges. Any time I have to cut through stitching freaks me out a little anyway but with this, the tension in my stitches is probably a little tight, which means the fabric is a little wrinkled. I know its going to be hard to get a really accurate cut. Might have to just give it a decent iron and accept that if I completely mess it up I can throw the whole thing in the bin.

It is a very pretty sashiko pattern though, with 3 different colours of thread.

2 responses »

Leave a comment